SMITHVILLE AREA FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING June 27, 2023

The regular monthly meeting of the Smithville Area Fire Protection District was called to order by Chairman Jason Ekis at 7:00 p.m. Board members present were Jason Ekis, Charlie Waters, Brian Laybourne, Ken Wilson, and Ryan Larson.

The pledge of allegiance was recited.

REVIEW PREVIOUS MONTHS MINUTES:

The minutes of the January 24, 2023 regular meeting were not available.

The minutes of the May 23, 2023 regular meeting were approved with no changes and without objection.

TREASURER'S REPORT:

The Treasurer's Report for May 2023 will be filed for audit with no changes and without objection.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT:

CHIEF'S REPORT:

Chief Cline provided the Chief's report.

1 structure fire (kitchen fire). Total of 4 other fire events. 85 medical emergencies. Total of 7 motor vehicles. The water rescue incident was non-injury. One hazardous condition. Total of 6 service calls, 9 good intent, and 4 false alarms. Total for the month of 127. Yearly total through the end of May is 600; last year at same time was 588.

Community risk reduction. One public education event. Total of 18 public relations events. 1 investigation. Total of 3 inspections. 11 permits issued. monthly training summary you see there's a lot going on

Total of training 668 hours for the month.

Maintenance. Station #2: Air-conditioning unit replaced and transmitter receiver on apparatus door was repaired.

Station #3: The fire alarm system has been inspected and tested. The sprinkler system test is still being scheduled. Evaluation by Taylor Plumbing of leak in shower still ongoing. AC at Station #3 in the dorm area fixed.

apparatus. Brush truck still out waiting on parts. Some maintenance work done on the 2017 pumper at Station #2.

Administration. June 19, two new firefighters, Hood and Schweinler, started orientation

PUBLIC COMMENT: None.

UNFINISHED/OLD BUSINESS: None.

NEW BUSINESS:

1. SWEARING IN OF NEW PERSONNEL

Tyler Brewer, Kyle Kennedy, and Ethan Knyzewski were sworn by the Chief.

2. CONSIDER APPROVAL OF MINIMUM STAFFING POLICY

Chief Cline presents policy. Chief Cline and Attorney Scarborough answer questions from the Board.

- C. Waters makes a motion to approve minimum staffing level policy 208. B. Laybourne seconded. Roll call vote: All present voted yes. Motion carried.
- 3. CONSIDER APPROVAL OF TEMPORARY MODIFIED-DUTY POLICY

Chief Cline presents policy and answers questions from the Board.

- C. Waters makes a motion to approve temporary modified-duty policy 1033. B. Laybourne seconded. Roll call vote: All present voted yes. Motion carried.
- 4. CONSIDER APPROVAL OF ACTING CAPTAIN POLICY

Chief Cline presents policy.

C. Waters makes a motion to approve the out-of-class assignments policy 1048. B. Laybourne seconded. Roll call vote: All present voted yes. Motion carried.

5. CONSIDER APPROVAL OF PROMOTION PROCESS FOR CAPTAIN

Chief Cline presents policy.

J. Ekis makes a motion to use the promotion process of Management Edge for the captain's process on August 4th. K. Wilson seconded. Roll call vote: All present voted yes. Motion carried.

CLOSED SESSION:

At 7:33 p.m., B. Laybourne made a motion to go into closed session as authorized by the State of Missouri Sunshine Law 610.021 (1) Legal and (3) Personnel. J. Ekis seconded the motion. Roll call vote: All present voted yes. Motion carried.

RECONVENE OPEN SESSION:

At 8:08 p.m., J. Ekis calls meeting back to order.

J. Ekis announces that action was taken in closed session.

NEXT BOARD MEETING:

The next regular meeting of the Board of Directors will be Tuesday, July 25, 2023 at 7:00 p.m.

ADJOURNED:

J. Ekis made a motion to adjourn the regular meeting. Motion was seconded by B. Laybourne. Roll call vote: All present voted yes
Motion carried. Adjourned at 8:08 p.m.

Respectfully,

/s/ Liebe Stevenson

LIEBE STEVENSON, C.C.R #1340

The meeting minutes were written by Liebe Stevenson, under the authority of the Board of Directors. These minutes are not official until read, approved and signed by a member of the Board.

Ryan	Larson,	Secretary	Date