# SMITHVILLE AREA FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING April 26, 2022

The regular monthly meeting of the Smithville Area Fire Protection District was called to order by Charlie Waters at 7:05 p.m. Board members present were Jason Ekis, Charlie Waters, Brian Laybourne, and Ryan Larson.

The pledge of allegiance was recited.

Attorney Scarborough administered oaths of office to Jason Ekis and Ryan Larsen.

#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS:**

- B. Laybourne nominates Jason Ekis for President. R. Larsen seconded. Roll call vote: C. Waters, yes. B. Laybourne, yes. R. Larsen, yes. Motion carried.
- B. Laybourne nominates Charlie Waters for Vice President.
- R. Larsen seconded. Roll call vote: J. Ekis, yes.
- C. Waters abstains. B. Laybourne, yes. R. Larsen, yes. Motion carried.
- B. Laybourne nominates Ryan Larsen for Secretary. C. Waters seconded. Roll call vote: J. Ekis, yes. C. Waters, yes. B. Laybourne, yes. R. Larsen, yes. Motion carried.

# TREASURER'S REPORT:

The Treasurer's Report for March 2022 will be filed for audit with no changes and without objection.

# CHIEF'S REPORT:

Chief Cline provided the Chief's report.

Total of 15 fires, one was a structure fire.
77 medical emergencies. 6 motor vehicle accidents.
4 hazardous conditions. 8 service calls. Total of 16 good intent or false alarm calls. March total: 126 runs.
Brings total for 2022 to 364, which is 42 runs more than same time last year.

11 public relations events. One investigation for the fire on 136th Street; total of three inspections. Zero plan reviews in March. Issued 10 open burning permits.

Total of 659 hours of training, which includes three weeks of new firefighter orientation.

Station #3 geothermal contractor appointment has to be rescheduled due to contractor's conflict.

2005 pumper going back to Precision to be looked at this week; also waiting on parts.

2017 apparatus had front airbags replaced; it's back in service.

Brush truck repair attempted on damaged hose; did not have a right splices; parts on order.

2019 tanker also in shop.

Portable radios updated.

Communications plan between Platte County and Clay County update: Talk group created, working through implementation with both dispatch centers and the highway patrol

New door bell to be installed at Station #2

Three firefighter candidates are completing skills testing this week

### PUBLIC COMMENT:

Tom Peca, 5004 Century Drive, Smithville 64089.

Addresses the Board and requests newly elected personnel to share their experience and plan for next six years in their positions.

R. Larsen and J. Ekis address his request.

UNFINISHED/OLD BUSINESS: None.

### **NEW BUSINESS:**

1. PRESENTATION OF THE 2021 FINANCIAL AUDIT, MICHAEL KEENAN, HOOD & ASSOCIATES

Michael Keenan presents the results of the financial and compliance audit for the year end of 12-31-2021

# 2. TRANSFER OF FUNDS FROM OPERATING ACCOUNT TO CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT ACCOUNT

Chief Cline provides information.

C. Waters makes a motion to transfer \$500,000 from the operating account to the capital improvement account. B. Laybourne seconded. Roll call vote: B. Laybourne, yes; C. Waters, yes; R. Larsen, yes; J. Ekis, yes. Motion carried.

### CLOSED SESSION:

At 7:33 p.m., J. Ekis made a motion to go into closed session as authorized by the State of Missouri Sunshine Law 610.021 (1) Legal and (3) Personnel. C. Waters seconded the motion. Roll call vote: C. Waters, yes. B. Laybourne, yes. R. Larsen, yes. J. Ekis, yes. Motion carried.

# RECONVENE OPEN SESSION:

At 8:06 p.m., J. Ekis calls meeting back to order.

### NEXT BOARD MEETING:

The next regular meeting of the Board of Directors will be Tuesday, May 24, 2022 at 7:00 p.m.

### ADJOURNED:

J. Ekis made a motion to adjourn the regular meeting. Motion was seconded by C. Waters. Roll call vote: B. Laybourne, yes; C. Waters, yes; R. Larsen, yes; J. Ekis, yes. Motion carried. Adjourned at 8:06 p.m.

Respectfully,

/s/ Liebe Stevenson
LIEBE STEVENSON, C.C.R #1340

The meeting minutes were written by Liebe Stevenson, under the authority of the Board of Directors. These minutes are not official until read, approved and signed by a member of the Board.

Ryan Larsen, Secretary Date